{Wedding} the vision

5.28.16

Confession: I have been planning my fictitious wedding on secret Pinterest boards since shortly after G and I started dating. Hey, when you know, you know! But it wasn’t until after we got engaged that my vision completely changed.

I realized many of my saved pins were so overdone- I’m looking at you, blush bridesmaid dresses. And I knew I didn’t want to look back at our photographs ten years from now and think “our wedding is so 2016”, the way I do when I look at my parents’ wedding from the 80’s.  It didn’t take long to discover we wanted to bring a classic and timeless vibe, but without being too stuffy or boring.

Our ceremony and reception will be held in the Lincoln Park neighborhood of Chicago, where we met and lived at that time. Both the Church and restaurant convey a classic, old Chicago feel, which we fell in love with immediately.

One thing we’ve heard continuously throughout the wedding planning process is how amazing the food is at our reception venue. We were absolutely blown away at our tasting. It was so difficult finalizing our menu because everything was so delicious! And we had a serious dessert dilemma when choosing between their to die for tiramisu and a traditional wedding cake in the yummiest lemon flavor you will ever put in your mouth.

We decided on offering our guests a choice of lemon chicken, baked salmon, and veal marsala. How cute is that little stamp indicating guests meal selections on place the card? Paper Source sells these adorable menu stamps, perfect for a small DIY project.

I provided our florist a list of my favorite flowers and our color scheme, and she nailed our mock-up by creating lovely blush and white centerpieces and bouquets that will accent the pale blue/grey bridesmaids dresses beautifully. She used peonies, ranunculus, hydrangea, stock, roses, dusty miller and silver dollar eucalyptus to achieve a romantic and slightly vintage feel we love.

more-black-and-white-wedding-sparklers

Since we will be getting married on Memorial Day weekend, we thought what better way to observe the holiday by adding some patriotic panache to our classic and timeless affair. We will have personalized American flags for guests to wave as we exit the Church, the guys will be sporting red, white, and blue socks,  and we will have a sparkler exit to end the night.

Leave a comment