[Recipe] Italian-style stuffed red peppers

For those of you who know me, know that I have the diet of a five year old. Until recently, I would turn my nose up at the thought of eating red peppers, or any pepper for that matter. Now, I can’t seem get enough of them. My food preferences must be evolving as I get older.

Most stuffed red pepper recipes are made southwestern which means I will not even think about eating them, as they are made with beans (yuck). So, I decided to channel my inner Italian with these Italian-style stuffed red peppers.

I could not get enough of this super filling and satisfying dish, so I thought I’d pass it along:

Image

Ingredients:

1 lb Lean ground turkey

3 Red bell peppers

2 Cups Pasta sauce

1 tsp Basil seasoning

2 cloves Pressed garlic

1/2 tsp Salt & pepper

1 1/2 cups Fresh spinach

8 tbs Parmesan cheese (mozzarella works too)

Optional 1 tsp sugar for sauce (I like my sauce slightly sweet)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Line baking sheet with foil for easy clean up and coat with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. Remove stems
  3. Cut peppers in half, length-wise, and remove the seeds and ribs inside the peppers. Set peppers aside on baking pan.
  4. Meanwhile, cook the ground turkey in a large non-stick skillet over medium heat. Stir and break up the turkey as it is cooking. When turkey is completely cooked, reduce heat to low and add the sauce and seasonings to the pan. Add the spinach and parmesan cheese and stir until well incorporated.
  5. Scoop 1/2 cup mixture into each pepper half
  6. Sprinkle remaining parmesan over the top of each pepper
  7. Bake for 20 minutes, or until cheese is melted and golden brown
  8. Remove from oven, let cool and enjoy!

One thought on “[Recipe] Italian-style stuffed red peppers

Leave a comment